Former ITC champions Isaac Mukundi, Gabriel Geay, Lelisa Desisa and Afewerki Berhane returning to race America’s All-Time Best 10K


BOULDER, COLO. (April 12, 2018) – BolderBOULDER, America’s All-Time Best 10K, today announced the entire roster of athletes traveling to Boulder to compete in the 2018 International Pro Team Challenge. Returning this year are Leonard Korir, Sam Chalenga and Diego Estrada who took first, second, and third place respectively for Team USA in 2017 race. University of Colorado graduate Shalaya Kipp will also be making her BolderBOULDER debut.

Also returning in 2018 are 2010 BolderBOULDER winner Lelisa Desisa from Ethiopia, 2014 winner Afewerki Berhane from Eritrea, 2016 winner Isaac Mukundi from Kenya and 2017 winner Gabriel Geay from Tanzania.

“I personally think this best men’s field we’ve ever had race BolderBOULDER,” said pro athlete coordinator Don Janicki. “With the strong American team, Gabriel Geay coming back and the strong field from Kenya and Ethiopia, it will be a very exciting race.

Members of the Men’s Team USA include three runners from the Army’s WCAP program based in Colorado Springs including four-time All-American Shadrack Kipchirchir; Emmanuel Bor, as well as last year’s top US male Leonard Korir who was also a member of the 2016 USA Olympic Team. Other American’s include Sam Chelanga, Diego Estrada, Ian Butler who won the first-ever FORTitude 10K Pro Race Chase; Biya Simbassa, and Brandon Johnson who finished second in the 2017 BolderBOULDER open race.

Other men’s teams include Team Latin America, Team Ethiopia, Team Kenya, Team Japan, Team Mexico, Team Eritrea and making their debut appearance at the BolderBOULDER, Team Bahrain.

Members of the Women’s Team USA include Taylor Ward; a rising star in American women’s distance running; Lindsey Scherf who finished sixth in the 2017 International Team Challenge; Lauren Martin-Masterson who was the first female finisher in the 2017 BolderBOULDER citizen’s race; Cally Macumber; Lindsay Flanagan and new to the line-up, Shalaya Kipp. Kipp is the 2012 NCAA Outdoor Steeplechase Champion for the University of Colorado as well as a 2012 Olympian in the 3,000M steeplechase.

Five-time BolderBOULDER International Team Challenge Female winner Mamitu Daska from Ethiopia is also scheduled to compete in 2018. If she wins in 2018 she will hold the record for most wins by a professional female racer, surpassing Rosa Mota who also holds five wins.

In addition to the American athletes competing at this year’s race, the BolderBOULDER will also be welcoming teams from all over the world including Team Japan, Team Poland, Team Kenya, Team Ethiopia, Team Mexico, Team Brazil and Team Great Britain.

The BolderBOULDER Push Rim race will begin at 6:50 AM and includes 2018 Paralympic team member and last year’s male winner Aaron Pike and 2017 female winner Cheri Madsen.

The BolderBOULDER created the International Team Challenge in 1998 which includes professional runners from all over the world that compete on three-person teams in a team by country format, for one of the largest non-marathon prize purse races in the country. This year’s total prize purse is valued at $110,600 before bonuses, last year BolderBOULDER paid $177,500. The men’s and women’s professional races follow the BolderBOULDER course and are scheduled to finish in a packed stadium at the University of Colorado’s Folsom Field before the Memorial Day Tribute.

The International Team Challenge will take place at the BolderBOULDER on Monday, May 28th with the women’s race tentatively starting at 11:13 AM and the men’s race beginning at 11:24 AM.


About BolderBOULDER

The BolderBOULDER, named America’s All-Time Best 10K by Runner’s World, is the 3rd largest running race in the United States and the 7th largest in the world. The race attracts over 50,000 runners, joggers, walkers and wheelchair racers, and draws professional athletes from around the world to compete for one of the largest non-marathon prize purses in road racing. The 2018 race winds through Boulder neighborhoods with live music and entertainment at every corner. The race finishes at the University of Colorado’s Folsom Field and attracts over 100,000 runners and spectators. The 40th annual BolderBOULDER will be held on Memorial Day, May 28th, 2018. For more information please visit: